Print details Printable details


The Doctor's Monsters: Meanings of the Monstrous in

The Doctor's Monsters: Meanings of the Monstrous in "Doctor Who"
Graham Sleight

  • Paperback | In Stock | £12.99

  • Paperback | In Stock | $24.95

    add to basket


Doctor Who has been on global television screens for nearly fifty years, and many of its most memorable protagonists have been its monsters, The Daleks, Cybermen, Slitheen, the Sonterans, Ood, Wiirrn, and others. Entertainingly and provocatively written, and introduced by Who scriptwriter Paul Cornell, The Doctor's Monsters takes a new look at these and many other creatures, and asks what inspired them and what lies behind them. If the Daleks are based on ideas of genetic purity, and the Cybermen on fears of transplant surgery, what about the Autons, the Zarbi, or the Weeping Angels? Science fiction critic Graham Sleight examines stories from the whole of Doctor Who's history to give this unique perspective on the series. Why are we so scared of monsters? Why do they look and act the way they do? How do they reflect the time and place that the series is broadcast in? Along the way, the book provides a history - from an unusual angle - of how this most enduring of TV science fiction series has created and recreated itself. The book also contains a comprehensive glossary of the creatures seen in Doctor Who. It is a must for any fan of the series.

Table of Contents

Foreword by Paul Cornell
A Brief History of Doctor Who
1. The Autons (1970, 1971, 2005, 2010)
2. The Weeping Angels (2007, 2010)
3. Kroll (1979)
4. The Primords (1970)
5. The Borad (1985)
6. The Axons (1971)
7. The Daleks I (1963–64)
8. The Cybermen I (1966–75)
9. The Sontarans (1973, 1975, 1978, 1985, 2008, 2011)
10. The Slitheen (2005)
11. The Silurians and the Sea-Devils (1970, 1972, 1984, 2010)
12. The Haemovores (1989)
13. The Daleks II (1964–74)
14. The Zarbi (1965)
15. The Wirrn (1974)
16. The Daleks III (1975–88)
17. The Dæmons (1971)
18. The Sycorax (2005)
19. The Cybermen II (1982–88)
20. The Marshmen (1980)
21. The Ood (2006, 2008, 2009–10, 2011)
22. The Tharils (1981)
23. The Cybermen III (2006, 2008, 2011)
24. The Adipose (2008)
25. The Ice Warriors (1967, 1969, 1972, 1973)
26. The ‘Martians’ (1970)
27. The Toclafane (2007)
28. The Cheetah-People (1989)
29. The Fendahl (1977)
30. The Mandrels (1980)
31. The Mara (1982, 1983)
32. The Daleks IV (2005–10)
33. The Silents (2011)

Author Info

British science fiction writer, editor and critic Graham Sleight was born in 1972 and The Doctor's Monsters is his first book. It was in part inspired by his grandfather, who designed Daleks for a UK toy firm.

Graham Sleight has been writing about science fiction and fantasy since 2000. He is the editor of  Foundation:  An International Review of Science Fiction and his work has appeared in Locus, Interzone, Science Fiction Studies, Strange Horizons, and the New York Review of Science Fiction. He has also contributed to a number of books, most recently the Cambridge Companion to Fantasy. His work on Doctor Who has included co-editing The Unsilent Library: Essays on the new Doctor Who, and providing commentary on the BBC DVD of the William Hartnell story The Ark.

He lives in London, UK.

Bibliographic Info

Imprint: I.B.Tauris
Publisher: I.B.Tauris & Co Ltd

ISBN: 9781848851788
Publication Date: 29 Aug 2012
Number of Pages: 256
Height: 213
Width: 135

Also of Interest

Doctor Who - The Eleventh Hour: A Critical Celebration of the Matt Smith and Steven Moffat Era

Doctor Who - The Eleventh Hour
Andrew O'Day
£12.99 | $25.00
£58.00 | $99.00

British Science Fiction Television: A Hitchhiker's Guide

British Science Fiction Television
£18.99 | $32.00
£62.50 | $110.00

New Book Alerts

Sign up now

Powered by Google